## **Cherwell District Council**

## Council

Minutes of a special meeting of the Council held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, OX15 4AA, on 7 July 2014 at 6.30 pm

Present: Councillor Melanie Magee (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Ken Atack Councillor Andrew Beere Councillor Claire Bell

Councillor Maurice Billington Councillor Norman Bolster Councillor Ann Bonner Councillor Mark Cherry Councillor Colin Clarke Councillor Surinder Dhesi Councillor John Donaldson Councillor Andrew Fulljames Councillor Michael Gibbard Councillor Carmen Griffiths

Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE

Councillor Chris Heath Councillor David Hughes Councillor Russell Hurle Councillor Tony Ilott

Councillor Matt Johnstone

Councillor Mike Kerford-Byrnes

Councillor Kieron Mallon
Councillor Nicholas Mawer
Councillor Nigel Morris
Councillor D M Pickford
Councillor Nigel Randall

Councillor G A Reynolds Councillor Barry Richards Councillor Alaric Rose Councillor Dan Sames Councillor Les Sibley

Councillor Lawrie Stratford Councillor Rose Stratford

Councillor Lynda Thirzie Smart Councillor Nicholas Turner Councillor Bryn Williams

Councillor Douglas Williamson

Councillor Barry Wood Councillor Sean Woodcock

Apologies Councillor Alastair Milne Home

for Councillor Fred Blackwell absence: Councillor Diana Edwards

Councillor Simon Holland

Councillor Ray Jelf

Councillor James Macnamara

Councillor Jon O'Neill Councillor Lynn Pratt Councillor Neil Prestidge Councillor Trevor Stevens Councillor Douglas Webb

Officers: Sue Smith, Chief Executive

Calvin Bell, Director of Development Karen Curtin, Director (Bicester)

Ian Davies, Director of Community and Environment Martin Henry, Director of Resources / Section 151 Officer Kevin Lane, Head of Law and Governance / Monitoring Officer

Natasha Clark, Team Leader, Democratic and Elections

### 14 Declarations of Interest

Members and Officers declared interests in the following agenda items:

# 7. Update to Treasury Strategy 2014-15.

Councillor Dan Sames, Non Statutory Interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Development Company Limited.

Councillor David Hughes, Non Statutory Interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Holdings Limited.

Councillor Nigel Morris, Non Statutory Interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Development Company Limited.

Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE, Non Statutory Interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Holdings Limited.

Karen Curtin, Declaration, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Holdings Limited and Graven Hill Village Development Company Limited.

Sue Smith, Declaration, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Holdings Limited.

## 15 **Communications**

## **Special Meeting**

The Chairman advised Council that as this was a Special meeting minutes of Committees, questions, petitions and motions would not be taken and these, if any would be considered at the next scheduled meeting on 21 July 2014.

### **Post**

The Chairman reminded Members to collect any post from their pigeon holes.

# 16 Petitions and Requests to Address the Meeting

There were no petitions or requests to address the meeting.

# 17 Urgent Business

There were no items of urgent business.

# 18 Cherwell Boundary Review Warding Arrangements Submission

The Chief Executive submitted a report to agree Cherwell District Council's warding arrangements submission to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

Councillor Mallon proposed the warding arrangements for Banbury as presented to the Boundary Review Working Group. Councillor Lawrie Stratford seconded the proposal.

By way of an amendment, Councillor Beere proposed that the proposed warding arrangements for Banbury should be amended to those submitted by the Labour Group to the Boundary Review Working Group. Councillor Woodcock seconded the proposal.

On being put to the vote the amendment was lost. Council then considered the substantive motion, which was put to the vote and duly carried.

### Resolved

- (1) That, subject to the renaming of Kidlington North and Kidlington South as Kidlington East and Kidlington West and correction of typographical errors, the warding arrangements for Bicester, Kidlington and the rural areas proposed by the Boundary Working group (annex to the minutes as set out in the Minute Book) be agreed for submission to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.
- (2) That the warding arrangement proposals for Banbury appended to these minutes (annex to the Minutes as set out in the Minute Book) be agreed as the preferred Banbury warding pattern for submission to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.
- (3) That authority be delegated to the Chief Executive to make any necessary amendments to the warding arrangements submission prior to submission to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England in light of the resolutions of Council.

# 19 Update to Treasury Strategy 2014-15

The Director of Resources and Interim Head of Finance and Procurement submitted a report which sought agreement of the proposed amendments of

## Council - 7 July 2014

the existing Treasury Strategy for 2014-15 required to facilitate the proposals for the development of the Graven Hill and other projects, as recommended by the Accounts, Audit and Risk Committee.

## Resolved

- (1) That the proposed amendments to the Treasury Strategy as reviewed by Accounts Audit and Risk Committee on 25 June 2014 (annex to the minutes as set out in the Minute Book) be agreed.
- (2) That the proposal to provide delegated authority to the Director of Resources in the application of Minimum Revenue Provision (MRP) be approved.

Chairman:

Date:

The meeting ended at 7.20 pm